Stimulants in Weight-Loss and Energy Products

Of all the ways a supplement can hurt someone, the one that fills emergency rooms most reliably is the simplest: a pill or powder that speeds the heart and narrows the blood vessels, taken by a young, otherwise healthy person who then goes to the gym. The products are sold as “fat burners,” “pre-workouts,” “thermogenics” and “energy” formulas, and the ingredient changes every few years — ephedra, then DMAA, then synephrine, then a rotating cast of chemical names — but the pattern does not. This page teaches the pattern: what the emergency-room data actually show, what happened with the two stimulants regulators removed, how much caffeine is a cup of coffee and how much is a poisoning, which medicines and heart conditions make a stimulant genuinely dangerous, and what the words “proprietary blend” hide. It is not an argument against your morning coffee or a cup of green tea; the last section explains why those are a different thing.


Table of Contents

  1. 1. The Scale: What the Emergency-Room Data Show
  2. 2. Ephedra: The Stimulant That Was Banned, and Why
  3. 3. DMAA: A “Geranium Extract” That Never Came from a Geranium
  4. 4. Synephrine and Bitter Orange: Ephedra’s Replacement
  5. 5. Caffeine: A Cup of Coffee Versus a Concentrated Powder
  6. 6. Yohimbine
  7. 7. Why “Proprietary Blend” Means You Cannot Know the Dose
  8. 8. Interactions: Blood-Pressure Drugs, Beta-Blockers, MAOIs and Arrhythmia
  9. 9. Warning Signs, and When It Is an Emergency
  10. 10. The Honest Bottom Line
  11. Research Papers
  12. Connections
  13. Featured Videos

1. The Scale: What the Emergency-Room Data Show

The best measurement of supplement harm in the United States comes from the CDC and FDA, who pulled ten years of records (2004–2013) from a nationally representative sample of 63 emergency departments and published the result in the New England Journal of Medicine (Geller et al., 2015). From 3,667 actual cases they estimated 23,005 emergency-department visits a year attributable to supplement adverse events (95% confidence interval 18,611 to 27,398), leading to about 2,154 hospitalisations annually. Two groups dominated: young adults aged 20 to 34 (28.0% of visits) and unsupervised children who got into a bottle (21.2%).

Once the child ingestions are set aside, the products responsible were mostly herbal or “complementary” formulas rather than vitamins and minerals (65.9% versus 31.8%). Products for weight loss were implicated in 25.5% of visits and products for increased energy in 10.0%. And here is the number this whole page rests on: weight-loss or energy products caused 71.8% (95% CI 67.6 to 76.1) of the supplement-related visits involving palpitations, chest pain or tachycardia, and 58.0% of those cardiac-symptom visits were people aged 20 to 34. Older adults appeared in the data for a different reason entirely — among people 65 and over, 37.6% of visits were for choking or a pill stuck in the throat.

That is the shape of the problem. It is not mysterious. Every stimulant on this page works by imitating or amplifying adrenaline (the pharmacologists’ word is sympathomimetic). Adrenaline speeds the heart, raises blood pressure by squeezing the arteries, and makes the heart muscle more electrically excitable. A weight-loss product delivers that effect to a person who is typically also dieting, dehydrated, sleep-short and about to exercise hard, which is precisely the state in which an over-driven heart is least forgiving. The remainder of this page is the story of specific molecules; the mechanism is the same in each.

2. Ephedra: The Stimulant That Was Banned, and Why

Ephedra (ma huang) is a shrub whose alkaloids — ephedrine and its relatives — are the model for every stimulant that followed. Through the 1990s it was the engine of American weight-loss supplements, usually paired with caffeine. When the FDA asked two clinical pharmacologists at the University of California, San Francisco, to review the adverse-event reports it had received, the result was the landmark NEJM paper by Haller and Benowitz (2000). Of 140 reports submitted between June 1997 and March 1999, 31% were judged definitely or probably related to the ephedra product and another 31% possibly related. Among those, 47% were cardiovascular and 18% neurological: hypertension was the single most common event (17 reports), then palpitations or tachycardia (13), stroke (10) and seizures (7). Ten of the events were deaths and 13 left permanent disability — 26% of the definite, probable and possible cases.

The FDA then commissioned the RAND Corporation to weigh the whole literature. The resulting meta-analysis (Shekelle et al., JAMA 2003) included 52 controlled trials and 65 case reports. On the benefit side, ephedrine or ephedra produced about 0.9 kg (2 lb) per month more weight loss than placebo, no trial lasted longer than six months, and there was no usable evidence for athletic performance at all. On the harm side, the trials showed 2.2- to 3.6-fold increases in the odds of psychiatric symptoms, autonomic symptoms (tremor, insomnia), gastrointestinal symptoms and heart palpitations. The trials were too small to measure rare events like stroke or death; the case reports were where those appeared, and RAND flagged 21 “sentinel events” — strokes, heart attacks and deaths with a documented ephedra dose in the preceding 24 hours and other causes excluded.

A third study put the risk in proportion. Using the national poison-control database for 2001, Bent and colleagues (Annals of Internal Medicine 2003) found that ephedra products accounted for 64% of all adverse reactions to herbal products reported in the United States while making up 0.82% of herbal sales. Adjusted for how much of each herb was sold, the relative risk of a reaction ranged from 100 times that of kava to 720 times that of ginkgo.

On 11 February 2004 the FDA published its final rule declaring every dietary supplement containing ephedrine alkaloids adulterated because it “presents an unreasonable risk of illness or injury,” effective 12 April 2004. The rule’s reasoning is worth reading because it applies to the successors: sustained increases in blood pressure raise the risk of stroke, heart attack and death in any population, and there was also evidence of risk from short-term use in people with heart failure or coronary artery disease. A federal district court in Utah set the rule aside in 2005; the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed that decision in 2006 and the ban has stood since. The ephedra rule remains the model for how a supplement stimulant gets removed: years of adverse-event reports, ten documented deaths and two commissioned reviews before a ban.

3. DMAA: A “Geranium Extract” That Never Came from a Geranium

With ephedra gone, the pre-workout market found 1,3-dimethylamylamine, or DMAA — a synthetic amphetamine-like sympathomimetic that had been sold as a nasal-decongestant drug decades earlier and withdrawn from the market in 1983. Supplement labels called it “geranium extract,” “geranamine” or Pelargonium graveolens, which allowed it to be sold as a botanical. Chemists tested the claim. Zhang and colleagues (Drug Testing and Analysis 2012) analysed eight commercial geranium extracts from China and the Middle East and found no DMAA in any of them at a detection limit of 10 parts per billion, while the DMAA in all 13 supplements they tested had the stereoisomer ratio of synthetic material. The FDA’s position is that it “is not aware of any reliable science indicating that DMAA exists naturally in plants.”

The alarm came from the military. Eliason and colleagues (Military Medicine 2012) reported two active-duty soldiers who had been taking multi-ingredient supplements containing DMAA and who collapsed during physical exertion from cardiac arrest and died. In December 2011 the Department of Defense ordered every DMAA product off the shelves of military exchanges pending a safety review. The Safety Review Panel’s report (3 June 2013) collected 40 adverse-event reports from military clinicians, including four deaths, three of them during exercise. Its conclusion was carefully worded and deserves to be quoted rather than paraphrased into something stronger: the evidence “does not conclusively establish” that DMAA caused the events, yet “supports an elevated health risk”; the panel rated the risk low to moderate, noted that with up to 15% of service members using these products the risk to most healthy users at label doses appeared low, and recommended keeping DMAA products out of military stores anyway.

The FDA moved in parallel. On 24 April 2012 it sent warning letters to ten companies, stating that DMAA is not a dietary ingredient and that products containing it are illegal to market as supplements; more letters followed through 2017. In 2013 it detained two DMAA products, OxyElite Pro and Jack3d, after their maker USPlabs initially refused the FDA’s efforts to achieve voluntary compliance; the company ultimately destroyed the products, valued at more than $8 million at retail, and agreed to stop manufacturing with DMAA. Also in 2013 the FDA seized DMAA products from Hi-Tech Pharmaceuticals; a federal court ruled in April 2017 that they were adulterated, the Eleventh Circuit affirmed in 2019, the Supreme Court declined to hear the case in 2020, and the products were destroyed on 12 November 2020. (The later liver-injury outbreak tied to a reformulated, DMAA-free OxyElite Pro is a separate story, told on the Liver Injury page.)

DMAA still turns up. The FDA lists the names to watch for on a label: 1,3-DMAA, 1,3-dimethylamylamine, 1,3-dimethylpentylamine, 2-amino-4-methylhexane, 4-methyl-2-hexanamine, dimethylamylamine, geranamine, methylhexanamine, methylhexaneamine, and “geranium extract” or “Pelargonium graveolens extract.”

4. Synephrine and Bitter Orange: Ephedra’s Replacement

As the ephedra ban took effect, “ephedra-free” formulas quickly appeared, built around bitter orange (Citrus aurantium), whose active alkaloid, p-synephrine, is a close chemical cousin of ephedrine. What is actually known about it comes from two small, careful studies, and the honest summary is: synephrine by itself looks milder than ephedrine, but the products it is sold in do not.

Haller, Benowitz and Jacob (American Journal of Medicine 2005) gave ten healthy adults, in random order a week apart, a placebo; a bitter-orange extract containing 46.9 mg of synephrine on its own; and a multi-ingredient “ephedra-free” weight-loss product containing only 5.5 mg of synephrine plus caffeine and other stimulants. The synephrine-only dose did not raise blood pressure (though it raised heart rate by 11.4 beats per minute at six hours). The multi-ingredient product — with an eighth as much synephrine — raised systolic pressure by 9.6 mmHg and diastolic by 9.1 mmHg at two hours and heart rate by 16.7 beats per minute at six hours. The authors’ conclusion: ephedra-free products have “significant cardiovascular stimulant actions, similar to ephedra,” probably from the caffeine and other stimulants in the mixture rather than from bitter orange alone.

Bui, Nguyen and Ambrose (Annals of Pharmacotherapy 2006) tested bitter orange alone at a higher dose — a single 900 mg extract standardised to 6% synephrine (about 54 mg) — in 15 healthy young adults. Systolic pressure was higher than placebo for five hours (peak difference 7.3 mmHg), diastolic pressure and heart rate modestly so (2.6 mmHg and 4.2 beats per minute). Small numbers in healthy volunteers; but the direction is the same as ephedra’s, and nobody has measured what these products do over months, in people with heart disease, or at the undeclared doses in a “blend.”

5. Caffeine: A Cup of Coffee Versus a Concentrated Powder

Caffeine is the one stimulant on this page that almost everyone takes, and the dose is what separates a habit from a hazard. The FDA cites 400 milligrams a day for most healthy adults as an amount “not generally associated with negative effects,” and gives typical contents per 12-fluid-ounce serving: brewed coffee 113 to 247 mg, an energy drink 41 to 246 mg, black tea 71 mg, green tea 37 mg, a caffeinated soft drink 23 to 83 mg. A supplement is different in two ways. First, it often hides caffeine under botanical names — guarana, yerba maté, kola nut, green-tea extract — so a “fat burner” taken with a morning coffee can quietly double or triple the day’s total. Second, the concentrated forms remove the natural brake that a hot cup of liquid provides.

The FDA estimates that toxic effects such as seizures can appear with rapid consumption of around 1,200 mg of caffeine — less than half a teaspoon of pure powder. One teaspoon of pure caffeine powder holds the caffeine of about 28 cups of coffee; half a cup of a concentrated liquid product holds more than 20 cups’ worth. Bulk powders were sold in bags of thousands of servings with instructions to measure a fraction of a teaspoon, which ordinary kitchen spoons cannot do accurately, and the gap between a normal dose and a lethal one is a matter of a small scoop. The FDA states that these products “have contributed to at least two deaths in the United States,” issued warning letters to bulk-caffeine sellers beginning on 1 September 2015, and on 13 April 2018 published a guidance for industry setting out which pure and highly concentrated caffeine products it considers adulterated — in short, bulk powders and liquids that leave the buyer to measure a safe dose out of a toxic quantity.

The forensic literature agrees on the thresholds. A systematic review of 92 deaths in which caffeine was the only cause (Cappelletti et al., Nutrients 2018) found that serious toxicity — seizures and cardiac arrhythmias — appears at blood concentrations of about 15 mg/L, that 80 to 100 mg/L is considered lethal, and that the deaths clustered in three groups: infants, psychiatric patients, and athletes. The symptoms of overdose, in the FDA’s words, are a rapid or dangerously erratic heartbeat, seizures, vomiting, diarrhoea, stupor and disorientation. Two 200 mg caffeine tablets already equal the FDA’s entire daily figure; a heaped spoon of powder is a hospital admission.

6. Yohimbine

Yohimbine, from the bark of the West African tree Pausinystalia johimbe, is not an adrenaline mimic in the usual sense: it blocks the alpha-2 receptors that normally tell the nervous system to release less adrenaline, so the effect is the same — more adrenaline, faster heart, higher pressure, more anxiety. It has been available both as a prescription drug and in supplements sold for weight loss and sexual enhancement, though it is banned in many countries.

Two studies describe the American market. Cohen and colleagues (Drug Testing and Analysis 2016) bought 49 brands from seven major retail chains and found yohimbine per serving ranging from none to 12.1 mg — a full pharmaceutical dose. Only 22% of the labels stated a quantity at all, and most of those were wrong, with actual content from 23% to 147% of the label; 39% of the products lacked the other bark alkaloids, suggesting synthetic or highly purified yohimbine rather than a plant extract; and just 2 of 49 gave both an accurate amount and any warning about side effects. The California Poison Control System’s review (Kearney et al., Annals of Pharmacotherapy 2010) found 238 symptomatic adult cases between 2000 and 2006, the annual rate rising more than fourfold over that period, 98.7% involving supplements rather than prescriptions. The commonest effects were gastrointestinal distress (46%), tachycardia (43%), anxiety or agitation (33%) and hypertension (25%), and yohimbine exposures had 5.8-fold higher odds of a severe outcome than the average call to the poison centre.

7. Why “Proprietary Blend” Means You Cannot Know the Dose

Federal labelling rules (21 CFR 101.36) allow a supplement to group ingredients into a “proprietary blend” that lists the components in descending order by weight and gives only the total weight of the blend. The individual amounts are not required. So a label reading “Thermogenic Matrix 850 mg: caffeine anhydrous, green tea extract, bitter orange, yohimbe bark, guarana” tells you that caffeine is the largest component and that the five together weigh 850 mg — and nothing else. The caffeine could be 100 mg or 700 mg. The yohimbine could be a trace or a full drug dose. There is no way to tell from the label, and that is by design.

The gap between label and contents can be wider than that. When Cohen and colleagues (Clinical Toxicology 2021) analysed 17 brands of weight-loss and sports supplements that listed one experimental stimulant, deterenol, two independent laboratories found nine different prohibited stimulants in eight combinations — four brands contained two stimulants, two contained three, and two contained four. Per-serving quantities included 5.7 to 92 mg of BMPEA, 18 to 73 mg of octodrine, 18 to 55 mg of oxilofrine and 17 mg of 1,3-DMAA. The authors’ verdict: these “cocktails of stimulants have never been tested in humans and their safety is unknown.” Names to treat as a stop sign on a label, besides the DMAA aliases above: deterenol (isopropylnorsynephrine, isopropyloctopamine), oxilofrine (methylsynephrine), octodrine (DMHA, 2-amino-isoheptane), BMPEA (beta-methylphenylethylamine, often hidden as Acacia rigidula), 1,3-DMBA (AMP citrate), phenpromethamine and higenamine.

The practical rule: if a stimulant-containing product does not state the milligrams of each active ingredient, you are not taking a known dose of anything, and the study that would tell you whether the mixture is safe has not been done.

8. Interactions: Blood-Pressure Drugs, Beta-Blockers, MAOIs and Arrhythmia

The clearest statement of who should not take an adrenaline-like stimulant is printed on every box of over-the-counter pseudoephedrine, because the FDA requires it (21 CFR 341.80): “Do not use this product if you have heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, or difficulty in urination due to enlargement of the prostate gland unless directed by a doctor,” and “Do not use if you are now taking a prescription monoamine oxidase inhibitor (MAOI) … or for 2 weeks after stopping the MAOI drug.” A supplement stimulant is the same pharmacology without the label. Four situations matter most.

Two multipliers deserve their own sentence. Hard exercise and heat: the soldiers in the DMAA reports collapsed during exertion, and three of the four deaths reviewed by the Department of Defense panel occurred during exercise. And dehydration or a very-low-calorie diet, which is the usual context in which these products are taken, can deplete potassium and magnesium, the minerals a steady heart rhythm depends on.

9. Warning Signs, and When It Is an Emergency

The early signs of too much stimulant are the ones the products half-advertise: a racing or pounding heart, jitteriness or tremor, anxiety that arrives from nowhere, insomnia, sweating, headache, nausea. If those appear after a new product, stop it — there is no version of this in which pushing through is the right call. Bring the container to the pharmacist and ask what the stimulants are and how they sit with your medicines; a pharmacist can read a “blend” faster than anyone.

Call 911 (do not drive yourself) for any of the following: chest pain or pressure; a heartbeat that is very fast, irregular, or accompanied by faintness; fainting or collapse, especially during exercise; a seizure; a sudden severe headache, confusion, weakness on one side, trouble speaking or seeing (the signs of stroke); severe agitation or hallucinations; or a blood-pressure reading far above your normal. For everything short of that — a child who swallowed pills, a double dose, symptoms you are not sure about — call Poison Control at 1-800-222-1222, free, 24 hours, and have the bottle in your hand. Afterwards, report the event to the FDA through its Safety Reporting Portal or MedWatch; the emergency-room statistics in section 1 exist only because people did.

10. The Honest Bottom Line

A cup of coffee or green tea is not what this page is about. A 12-ounce coffee is roughly 113 to 247 mg of caffeine, a known dose of a single, well-studied compound, absorbed slowly from a hot liquid that is hard to drink fast, in a person who generally is not about to sprint. The FDA’s 400 mg-a-day figure comfortably accommodates it, and green tea in moderation has a reasonable record; see the Green Tea and Coffee pages. The thing to avoid is the stack: several stimulants at once, in doses the label does not state, from ingredients that were on no one’s market five years ago, taken with a restricted diet before a workout. Every stimulant regulators have removed followed that script, and the ones now on the shelf follow it too.

The evidence for the benefit is thin: the best-studied stimulant ever sold for weight loss, ephedra, delivered about two pounds a month for a few months and nothing beyond, and none of its successors has been studied anywhere near as thoroughly. The evidence for the harm is a decade of emergency-room data in which weight-loss and energy products account for seven in ten supplement-related visits for palpitations, chest pain and racing heart. Concentrated green-tea extracts carry a separate risk to the liver, covered on the Liver Injury from Supplements page. For what actually moves weight over the long term, start at the Weight Loss page; none of it comes in a scoop.

Back to Table of Contents

Research Papers

  1. Geller AI, Shehab N, Weidle NJ, et al. Emergency department visits for adverse events related to dietary supplements. N Engl J Med. 2015;373(16):1531-1540. doi:10.1056/NEJMsa1504267 — ~23,005 ER visits/yr; weight-loss or energy products caused 71.8% of supplement-related visits for palpitations, chest pain or tachycardia.
  2. Haller CA, Benowitz NL. Adverse cardiovascular and central nervous system events associated with dietary supplements containing ephedra alkaloids. N Engl J Med. 2000;343(25):1833-1838. doi:10.1056/NEJM200012213432502 — 140 FDA reports; hypertension, palpitations, 10 strokes, 7 seizures, 10 deaths, 13 permanent disabilities.
  3. Shekelle PG, Hardy ML, Morton SC, et al. Efficacy and safety of ephedra and ephedrine for weight loss and athletic performance: a meta-analysis. JAMA. 2003;289(12):1537-1545. doi:10.1001/jama.289.12.1537 — ~0.9 kg/month more weight loss than placebo; 2.2- to 3.6-fold higher odds of psychiatric, autonomic and GI symptoms and palpitations.
  4. Bent S, Tiedt TN, Odden MC, Shlipak MG. The relative safety of ephedra compared with other herbal products. Ann Intern Med. 2003;138(6):468-471. doi:10.7326/0003-4819-138-6-200303180-00010 — ephedra was 64% of herbal adverse reactions reported to poison control and 0.82% of herbal sales.
  5. Eliason MJ, Eichner A, Cancio A, Bestervelt L, Adams BD, Deuster PA. Case reports: death of active duty soldiers following ingestion of dietary supplements containing 1,3-dimethylamylamine (DMAA). Mil Med. 2012;177(12):1455-1459. doi:10.7205/MILMED-D-12-00265 — two soldiers taking DMAA-containing products collapsed in cardiac arrest during exertion and died.
  6. Zhang Y, Woods RM, Breitbach ZS, Armstrong DW. 1,3-Dimethylamylamine (DMAA) in supplements and geranium products: natural or synthetic? Drug Test Anal. 2012;4(12):986-990. doi:10.1002/dta.1368 — no DMAA in any of 8 geranium products at 10 ppb; supplement DMAA matched synthetic stereoisomer ratios.
  7. Haller CA, Benowitz NL, Jacob P 3rd. Hemodynamic effects of ephedra-free weight-loss supplements in humans. Am J Med. 2005;118(9):998-1003. doi:10.1016/j.amjmed.2005.02.034 — a multi-ingredient bitter-orange product raised blood pressure ~9-10 mmHg and heart rate 16.7 bpm; synephrine alone did not raise pressure.
  8. Bui LT, Nguyen DT, Ambrose PJ. Blood pressure and heart rate effects following a single dose of bitter orange. Ann Pharmacother. 2006;40(1):53-57. doi:10.1345/aph.1G488 — 900 mg bitter-orange extract raised systolic pressure for 5 hours (peak +7.3 mmHg) in healthy adults.
  9. Cappelletti S, Piacentino D, Fineschi V, Frati P, Cipolloni L, Aromatario M. Caffeine-related deaths: manner of deaths and categories at risk. Nutrients. 2018;10(5):611. doi:10.3390/nu10050611 — systematic review of 92 deaths from caffeine alone; toxicity from ~15 mg/L, lethal at 80-100 mg/L; infants, psychiatric patients and athletes at risk.
  10. Cohen PA, Wang YH, Maller G, DeSouza R, Khan IA. Pharmaceutical quantities of yohimbine found in dietary supplements in the USA. Drug Test Anal. 2016;8(3-4):357-369. doi:10.1002/dta.1849 — 49 brands; up to 12.1 mg yohimbine per serving; only 22% of labels gave a quantity, most of them inaccurate.
  11. Kearney T, Tu N, Haller C. Adverse drug events associated with yohimbine-containing products: a retrospective review of the California Poison Control System reported cases. Ann Pharmacother. 2010;44(6):1022-1029. doi:10.1345/aph.1P060 — 238 cases 2000-2006; tachycardia 43%, hypertension 25%; 5.8-fold higher odds of a severe outcome.
  12. Cohen PA, Travis JC, Vanhee C, Ohana D, Venhuis BJ. Nine prohibited stimulants found in sports and weight loss supplements: deterenol, phenpromethamine (Vonedrine), oxilofrine, octodrine, beta-methylphenylethylamine (BMPEA), 1,3-dimethylamylamine (1,3-DMAA), 1,4-dimethylamylamine (1,4-DMAA), 1,3-dimethylbutylamine (1,3-DMBA) and higenamine. Clin Toxicol (Phila). 2021;59(11):975-981. doi:10.1080/15563650.2021.1894333 — 17 brands, 9 prohibited stimulants in 8 combinations, up to 4 per product; never tested in humans.

Regulatory Records

  1. FDA. Final Rule Declaring Dietary Supplements Containing Ephedrine Alkaloids Adulterated Because They Present an Unreasonable Risk. Federal Register 69 FR 6788, 11 February 2004; effective 12 April 2004. govinfo.gov (official PDF)
  2. FDA. Import Alert 54-13 — detention without physical examination of products labelled as dietary supplements that claim to contain ephedrine alkaloids; restates the rule and its effective date. accessdata.fda.gov
  3. Nutraceutical Corp. v. von Eschenbach, 459 F.3d 1033 (10th Cir. 2006) — the appeals-court decision upholding the ephedra rule. courtlistener.com
  4. FDA. DMAA in Products Marketed as Dietary Supplements — the agency’s position, the label aliases, the 2013 detentions and seizures, and the list of warning letters beginning 24 April 2012. fda.gov
  5. Department of Defense. Report of the Department of Defense 1,3-Dimethylamylamine (DMAA) Safety Review Panel, 3 June 2013 (Operation Supplement Safety). opss.org (PDF)
  6. FDA. Highly Concentrated Caffeine in Dietary Supplements: Guidance for Industry, April 2018. fda.gov (PDF)
  7. FDA. Pure and Highly Concentrated Caffeine — the “at least two deaths” statement, the teaspoon comparison, and the warning letters from 2015 onward. fda.gov
  8. FDA. Spilling the Beans: How Much Caffeine Is Too Much? — the 400 mg/day figure, per-drink caffeine contents, and the ~1,200 mg toxic-effects estimate. fda.gov
  9. 21 CFR § 101.36(c) — supplement labelling: ingredients in a “proprietary blend” are listed by weight order with only the blend’s total weight declared. ecfr.gov
  10. 21 CFR § 341.80 — required warnings on over-the-counter nasal-decongestant (ephedrine/pseudoephedrine) labels: heart disease, high blood pressure, thyroid disease, diabetes, prostate enlargement, and MAOIs. ecfr.gov

Back to Table of Contents

Connections

Back to Table of Contents